drager logo
We are the only Dräger Distributor in California
drive-right-schedule-install-button install-price-image happy-girl-user

(877) 937-4448

(877) 93-RIGHT

California DUI Facts

First California DUI Offense

1st Drunk Driving Conviction

  • Jail: From 96 Hours to 6 Months
  • Fine: From $1,000 to $1,600
  • License Suspension: 6 Months
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • May Be Ordered to Install Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
  • California SR22 Insurance Required for Restricted License

Second California DUI Offense

2nd Drunk Driving Conviction (Within 10 Years of Previous)

  • Jail: 90 Days to 1 Year
  • Fine – From $1,000 to $1,900
  • License Suspension: 2 Years
  • May Apply for Restricted Driver License (IID Required)
  • Must Complete a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • California SR22 Certificate Required for Restricted License

 

Legal Facts

  • DUI drivers are convicted of a violation of Vehicle Code (V.C.) 23152. This law requires judges to order the installation of ignition interlock devices, under certain circumstances, in all cars that the DUI convicted person may drive. You may have no choice about installation when the court order to install an ignition interlock device.

YOU RISK 6 MONTHS IN JAIL & A $5,000 FINE FOR MESSING WITH THE DEVICE.

  • When you are ordered to install an ignition interlock device, it is a crime for you
    to request another person to blow into the device V.C. 23247(b).
  • It is also a separate crime for any friend or relative to blow into the device V.C. 23247(c).
  • It is a crime to remove, bypass, or tamper with an ignition interlock device V.C. 23247(d).
  • It is a crime to drive a car with out an interlock ignition device when your license is restricted V.C. 23247(c).

YOU RISK TERMINATION OF YOUR RESTRICTED LICENSE FOR FAILING TO FOLLOW THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE DEVICE.

  • The Department of Motor Vehicles will terminate a restricted license for anyone who attempts to remove, bypass, or tamper with the device, or who fails to comply with any requirement for maintenance and calibration of the ignition interlock device V.C. 23575(2).
  • Calibration means testing the device to be sure that it is measuring properly. We require calibration every 30-days for free. The law requires you to have the device calibrated at least once every 60-days V.C. 23575(d).
  • You must bring the device into a center to be calibrated once a month.
    Call 877-93-RIGHT or 877-937-4448 to schedule an appointment.
  • The law requires us to notify the court if you fail to make the monthly appointments to calibrate the device V.C. 23575(2) or fail to take the rolling retests three times V.C. 23575(o) or fail to take the rolling retest and then fail to pass a rolling retest before turning off the engine V.C. 23575 (o)(2).

 


Drive Right's mission and first priority is to prevent and reduce injuries and the loss of lives that driving under the influence causes.

Drive Right Ignition Interlock Systems Corporation is headquartered in Sacramento, CA and is the leading Ignition Interlock service provider in

GET STARTED TODAY

drive-right-ignition
*Free installation in mandatory counties only. Counties include Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento and Tulare. Most vehicles, does not include sales tax and insurance.

Listed with the California DMV as an Ignition Interlock system installer and monitoring company.